Glitter can be cheetahlicious too.

20120519-192902.jpg

So pretty. So so pretty. Prettyyy…. Enough? Okay. But still. So pretty.

I have been wanting to do cheetah print for a while now, but like many I thought it was hard. Boy was I wrong! I took some starter tips from the girls over at Every College Girl, then winged it and tried it out on one of my template wheels ( essentially 18 fake nails attached in a circle. I think they’re supposed to be used for swatching colors? I do that too. But for now it’s practicing cute things!). I did two base coats of the glitters, then waited for them to dry pretty good. I was trying other color combinations along with the glitter (which I’ll show another time!), so after I did one coat on all 18 I repainted. By the time I was done again all of the colors were pretty dry. I then took the paint brush that came in the bottle for whatever color I was using as the middle of the cheetah circle , and just dabbed random spots all over, anywhere from 5 to 8. I then took my dotting tool and dipped it I’m black or silver, and then traced around half of each dab. The end result? Cheetah! I’ll do a post with step-by-step to this with pictures, but for now just enjoy the glitter! And the cheetah print. So pretty!

20120519-193805.jpg

Sorry. I’ll stop drooling. Starting from the left we have a base of Essence Walk on Air. The dabs are L.A. Girl Disco Brites nail polish in blue. The outer half circles are Revlons Silver Dollar(a super pretty shimmery silver. The shimmer is why that nail belongs with the glitters:).
The second from the left is a base of Color Club in Gold. The dabs are O.P.I Bling Dynasty, the half circles are Finger Paints Black Expressionism.
Second from the right is Nicole by O.P.I. Snow-Man of My Dreams with the dabs in China Glaze 108 Degrees. The half circles are also Black Expressionism.
The one on the right is a base of China Glaze Lorelei’s Tiara, a gorgeous silver glitter with flecks of blue. I think that makes an interesting texture to look at when it’s paired with China Glaze Blue Iguana, like I did. Black Expressionism is once again the half circles.

I am loving all this glitter-cheetahness. I can’t wait to do one of these on my actual nails! I plan on doing some type of cheetah print for my graduation nails, I think I have the chosen design on the other end of my cheetah wheel, but I’m still going to play around.

So is it just me, or is the glitter and cheetah combination just amazing. Am I crazy? Feel free to say so. But I’m in love. Let me know!
:]

About GlitterGirl

A college student who loves all things that sparkle! Nail polish is a fun way for me to express myself and I hope to share my designs with other nail polish addicts while exploring new techniques and designs. If you like ( or even hate!) what you see, please leave a comment and let me know! I get butterflies every time I get a new comment. If you have any questions, email me at glittericiousnails@live.com :]

4 responses to “Glitter can be cheetahlicious too.

  1. Jacoya

    love the CHEETAHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!…keep them comming!!!:)

  2. kaitlynm2012

    Gahhhh this is cool!!!!!! ;D

  3. Mare

    shoooottt! i want these skillz. šŸ˜€ keep it up i want to see more!

Leave a Reply

