Sometimes You Just Gotta Improvise

I have been dying to do a glitter gradient for a while now, so as soon as I got home I gathered all my nail polish to try and create what was in my head. The only problem? I could not find make up sponges anywhere. While I was gone we had the flooring redone, which means all my nail stuff had to be packed away. Since the sponge is what makes the gradient an actual gradient, I was a bit crestfallen. That is, until I realized I could improvise! Using a cotton ball and Saran wrap I was able to dab the glitter onto my nails and get the same effect that the sponge creates. I’m so pleased with the results, especially since I thought I wouldn’t be able to do them when I couldn’t find my sponges. Using Sally Hansen Good To Grape and Finger Paints Purple Palette, here’s my gradient! I kind of wish it was contrasting more, but that just means I’ll have to try again with funner colors. Oh, the horror (;])

20120808-104324.jpg

20120808-104338.jpg

20120808-104344.jpg

20120808-104331.jpg

About GlitterGirl

A college student who loves all things that sparkle! Nail polish is a fun way for me to express myself and I hope to share my designs with other nail polish addicts while exploring new techniques and designs. If you like ( or even hate!) what you see, please leave a comment and let me know! I get butterflies every time I get a new comment. If you have any questions, email me at glittericiousnails@live.com :]

Leave a Reply

