Easy Breezy Beautiful… Clouds

 

Like I promised, here is the tutorial on the cloud mani! The pictures are pretty self explanatory, but I’ll add words to make it easier for all of you. Aren’t I nice? 🙂

Step One: Do two coats of a base color. Unless you’re using a super-saturated polish, go gradient-style and do your coats light to dark. That way you don’t have to worry about the color underneath it showing through.

Step Two: Grab your second polish and give the bottle a good shake. Then, take the brush out and wipe off some of the excess polish on the inside rim of the bottle. Leave enough to get a thick round shape when you start to paint the cloud. If you are using a thick rectangular brush, turn it sideways so the skinny side is what touches your nail. That way you get the rounded edge.

Step Three: Paint on three dashes starting at different points mid-nail and going to the tip. The first one (the farthest left) should be the longest, the second the middle length, and the third the shortest. Take your time with your strokes, that way you get a good think stripe.

Step Four: Wait a few minutes for the stripes to dry, then grab your third polish and do steps two and three again. This time, make sure the dashes stay within the shape of the first dashes (don’t go past where the second polish is, and leave room for it to show!). Finish with a good top coat.

See? How simple and easy is that! Look at two pictures at the bottom of this post, that should help more if the words and above picture doesn’t make everything crystal clear. If you need more help or a clarification, please feel free to leave a question in the comments or email me at glittericiousnails@live.com. I love hearing from you guys! (which also means to let me know if you enjoy this cloud mani as much as I do!)

 

About GlitterGirl

A college student who loves all things that sparkle! Nail polish is a fun way for me to express myself and I hope to share my designs with other nail polish addicts while exploring new techniques and designs. If you like ( or even hate!) what you see, please leave a comment and let me know! I get butterflies every time I get a new comment. If you have any questions, email me at glittericiousnails@live.com :]

Leave a Reply

